Home

Contact us

 

CHEZ REBECCA

Gallery

Reviews

Booking calendar

 

THE CAVE @ No. 42

Gallery

Archive

Reviews

Booking calendar

 

ESSAOUIRA

Things to do

Restaurants

Map

Weather

Travel

Articles

Useful information

Links

 

 

Last updated:

18 December 2013

 

 

 

 

 

 

Reviews ...  


 

 

Wonderful stay

Our stay at Chez Rebecca has been truly wonderful. The apartment offers all the home comforts you could possibly want and the apartment manager, Sad, is very friendly and only too happy to help. With easy access to the shared terrace, you can enjoy the delightful views and gorgeous sunshine with ease and comfort. Perfect for reading a book and enjoying a meal. If you prefer privacy however, Chez Rebecca also offers a smaller private terrace, perfect for breakfast. The house cat, Hamacha, is very friendly, a wonderful bonus to the stay. Being in the Medina, the apartment is in a great location, perfect for exploring the magical streets and souks of Essaouira. So what are you waiting for?

Sophie, November 2013 (Tripadvisor)

 

Lovely flat in Essaouira

We are a family of four with 2 teenagers and were travelling around Morocco. We spent a week at Chez Rebecca - it is a lovely flat with a nice terrace to have breakfast on / sit in the sun in the day, and a larger shared roof terrace . The flat is cleaned daily by Amina who also took us to her Hamman - a highlight of our trip as it felt like a completely authentic experience rather than a luxury Western type spa. There is even a cat to adopt during your stay if you want to. We found the location ideal as we really liked stepping almost straight out in to the bustling market streets. It always felt safe and we had no hassle at all from people.

Pistache, September 2012 (Tripadvisor)

Beautiful little flat with everything needed for a relaxing break

Chez Rebecca was a perfect base for our visit to Essaouira. The flat was beautifully and simply decorated and very well equipped with everything we needed, including an excellent selection of books and music, and a large orange squeezer of which we had very good use! I particularly enjoyed relaxing in the amazing organic shaped tadelakt bath, with its niches and nooks, and having breakfast on the private terrace. Amina was delightful, and came to clean every morning. She also took me and my daughter to her Hammam where she gave us both the most through scrubbing we have ever had - this was certainly one of the most authentic experiences we had on the holiday and a real insight into traditional Moroccan life.

Laura, April 2013 (Flipkey)

 

We loved staying at Chez Rebecca

We loved staying at Chez Rebecca. It was a delightful base for our stay in Essaouira and provided everything we could have wished for. The beds were really comfortable, everything was clean and well maintained and a fantastic selection of books and music was available for a bit of down time in the flat or on the beautiful roof terrace.

Laura, April 2013 (Villarenters)

 

A wonderful place

A wonderful place, fabulous roof terrace, cosy apartment with a lovely fire lit for us on the chilly nights. A perfect location off a quiet square. Beautiful traditional decor. We were well looked after during our stay. Perfect for 2 adults and 2 children.

Julia, February 2013 (Villarenters)

 

Met our expectations in every way

We, a family of four people (parents with teenage daughters) from Finland stayed here for almost a week and enjoyed our stay very much. The apartment met our expectations in every way and its position in the Medina was perfect, everything within walking distance. All personnel connected to the apartment and to our stay were great. Warm thanks to Said, manager of the apartment, who gave us very clear and useful information about living in the apartment and getting along in Essaouira, Kabor who cared for us by lighting the fireplace every evening, Amina the most heartwarming person, and Saids brother, our driver between Agadir and Essaouira is a good driver and good company. Together all of them made us feel safe and warm welcome. The information folders at the apartment were very useful with valuable information about eating, what to do, where to go and how to meet the people in Essaouira and their culture. We warmly recommend both Chez Rebecca and Essaouira.

Monika, December 2011 (Villarenters)

 

Relaxing and calm apartment

We were delighted with Chez Rebecca. It was a really relaxing and calm apartment - a place to chill after shopping in the medina. We enjoyed lovely views from the terrace. It rained one day (briefly) and the rainbows we saw were simply stunning. All the people we met were charming and helpful. A lovely comfortable place to stay. The visiting cat Hamachar was very friendly and made it feel like a home from home.

Melissa, November 2011 (Villarenters)

 

Wonderful place to stay

We had a great time at Chez Rebecca. The apartment was very relaxing. It was comfortable, tastefully decorated and clean (cleaned every day). We really enjoyed the views from the top terrace - rainbows, clouds scudding across the sky, waves crashing in the distance. Wonderful oasis from the busy streets below.

Bonnie, November 2011 (Trip Advisor)

 

Authentic and atmospheric

Chez Rebecca is the top apartment of a four story building in the centre of the medina. It is light and airy, beautifully appointed and a delight to be in. The kitchen is well equipped, tho' as meals were good and cheap in the town, we only ever had breakfast there. The bathroom is wonderfully traditional as well as being perfectly functional - I imagined laying in the bath with a scented candle and mood music (I didn't actually get time to try this). Beds were very comfy and linen and towels were provided.
In the double room, with its doors opening on to the private terrace it was tempting to lay too long just reading and listening to the gulls and the city below. Walking through the other bedroom to get to the bathroom wasn't a problem for us and if it had been, we could have left the doors unlocked and gone via the private terrace. The wifi connection was a bit sporadic but we did get connected most of the times we tried. There was a good selection of books and games too. We didn't try the TV. There was also a wealth of helpful information about the town, local restaurants etc. There is no lift in the building so the steep stairs could be an issue for someone less agile. The roof terrace was great for pre dinner drinks or just relaxing with a book or sketch pad. On the odd occasion when people from the other apartments were up there, it made for a party atmosphere! The staff were incredibly helpful and friendly and the apartment was cleaned every day. Would recommend - we had a great time.

Ally, October 2010 (Flipkey)

 

A great spot

We have stayed in Chez Rebecca twice and will hopefully be back for a 3rd visit. The apartment is perfect for a small family with a private terrace great for breakfasts and a shared rooftop terrace with views over the medina and out to the atlantic, it is in a great spot deep in the old medina and the narrow street outside is full of life and gives you a real sense of moroccan culture. Both our visits have been over the christmas period so we have made the most of the traditional fireplace on chilly evenings.

Tim, January 2010 (Trip Advisor)

 

Incredibly relaxing

Had a fantastic stay at Chez Rebecca in Nov 2009, the weather was incredibly warm and we had surf lessons every morning for under 10 an hour (including gear hire.) We managed to eat our way round the Medina using the site restaurant guide and had the most incredible food. An evening meal at D'Orient et d'Aillieurs being the pick of the bunch. Incredibly relaxing stay, we will be back next year.

JNM, December 2009 (Trip Advisor)

 

Home from home

It was a home from home. Beautiful, clean everything that we hoped for! Said and Amina are real gems and we had a fantastic, relaxing time there.

Lisa, July 2009 (Villarenters)

 

Just perfect

I booked Chez Rebecca for a little winter treat from the gloomy british weather and it was just perfect. Said met us from the bus stop and guided us through the narrow streets of the media adorned with beautiful colours and history. We climbed the steps inside the house then arrived at the front door. Inside was simply stunning from the rounded white-washed walls to the corner fire place, the hammam-style bathroom and the exotic blues and yellows of the furniture. Everything worked, was comfortable and even the cat Hamchar was very friendly (we do worry about him jumping along the walls!!) The lower terrace was a delight in the hot afternoon sun and the upper terrace was a perfect sun trap in the morning overlooking the rooftops, hearing the mosque calls and spotting the waves rolling in on the beach. I hope to return one day, Inshallah. Thanks for making it such a beautiful few days.

Ceri, July 2009 (Villarenters)

 

By far the nicest place we have found

I would like to tell you that we had a wonderful stay at Chez Rebecca over Christmas, this was our 3rd time in Essaouira and Chez Rebecca was by far the nicest place we have found, it had everything we needed and more. Sad and all the team were great, he was very helpful when our daughter sprained her ankle on the beach. We would certainly recommend the apartment to anybody and will hopefully return ourselves in the not to distant future.

Tim, January 2009 (Villarenters)

 

Lovely little flat

We have greatly enjoyed the lovely little flat; the morning sun with breakfast on the terrace, gentle Hamachar always welcoming, and Amina so warm and friendly always keeping things so neat and tidy. Most of all having this place to come back to after the busy life of the town has been great.

Katherine, Philip, Daniel and Brendan, October 2008

 

A little piece of heaven

After the initial culture shock of entering the souk and following our bags down the alley entering Chez Rebecca was a delight. We had the terrace to ourselves as the other apartments were empty - it was a little piece of heaven. We have just had the best 5 chilling days.

Jule and Terri, October 2008

 

An oasis

When we first arrived via the fruit and veg market we had a bit of a culture shock but don't worry - you'll get used to it!! Chez Rebecca is an oasis in a crazy town. Have a great time - we did.

Kristian and Kate, October 2008

 

A home from home

Had a fab stay. Chez Rebecca really felt like a home from home. A perfect escape from the madness of the town. The property was a great base to explore the town and the private sun terrace was a great escape for a day away from it all. Our contact with the owners prior to our arrival and the information folder in the property was so useful and informative and we referred to the folder on a daily basis. Our cleaner Amina was so friendly and did a fantastic job of keeping the place clean. Horse riding on the beach was great.  All in all a great two weeks with the batteries well and truly charged and ready to hit Marrakech. I would definitely recommend Chez Rebecca to anyone looking for a property in Essaouira and would like to thank the owners for a great stay.

Sorelle and Tim, September 2008

 

Lovely apartment, great location

Lovely apartment, great location. Food was amazing

Sophie and Pete, August 2008

 

Full of character

The apartment was clean and had everything you could need. Security was good and the terrace lovely. It is full of character. The telly was an advantage ...for some. The meals you could buy in from a menu in the detailed info. book at the appt. were lovely.

Lynn K, August 2008 (Villarenters)

 

Amazing apartment in a fantastic place!

My partner and I stayed at this apartment in November last year and we loved every minute of our trip! We had stayed in Marrakech a couple of days before and Essaouira is completely different - so laid back and less hassling.

Laura, April 2008 (Yahoo)

 

A great place to relax

We had a wonderful stay in Chez Rebecca. Comfortable, with kitchen, nice Essaourian style. After the rush in Fez and Marrakech it was a great place to relax, we listened to the CDs a lot, I recommend Tinariwen - Amassakoul!!! We sunbathed on the roof terrace a lot and the small terrace is perfect for the morning coffee. Thanks a lot.

Timea M, August 2008 (Villarenters)

 

Loved watching sunset from the roof

Had plenty of room, cleaner very efficient and thorough. Quiet spot, loved watching sunset from the roof.
Colin S, June 2008

 

A beautiful apartment, fantastic views

My partner and I stayed at this apartment in November last year and we loved every minute of our trip! We had stayed in Marrakech a couple of days before and Essaouira is completely different - so laid back and less hassling. Chez Rebecca was a beautiful apartment to stay in and we were more than happy. The private terrace was great as was the roof which gave us fantastic views! The kitchen was more than adequate (and we made most of our meals in there), and the bathroom was amazing with all it hideaways and a gorgeous deep stone bath. We also had a 3rd member of the family whilst we were there - Hamachar the cat whom we still miss now! Definitely a great place to visit if you want a taste of true Essaouria. Rather than a touristy hotel stay in this beautiful Moroccan apartment and have a fantastic holiday! You will wish you had done it sooner!

Laura P, April 2008 (Yahoo)

 

Restful and restorative

A restful and restorative week here at Chez Rebecca. We have eaten well in a variety of restaurants and have really enjoyed buying - and eating! - the wonderful fresh vegetables. A vegetarian's delight!

Peter and Kathy, April 2008

 

Relaxing and peaceful

We did so enjoy our stay in your lovely apartment. So relaxing and peaceful. To fall asleep to the sound of waves was wonderful. Mr Bizbiz was most helpful and organised a grand day out in the countryside for us. The 'cleaning lady' I never did learn her name was cheerful and friendly.  All in all the visit was a great success if only it was nearer!!

Sonia B, 8 April 2008

 

A great little apartment

Chez Rebecca is a great little apartment. The close proximity to the food souks makes cooking for yourself from the Chez Rebecca recipe book a breeze! Thanks for a great stay.

Catherine, Edd and Jonnie, 8 January 2008

 

A real Moroccan experience

If you want a real Moroccan experience away from anonymous Western hotels then this is the place to stay. High up in a house in a tiny alleyway in the traffic-free medina of Essaouira this apartment is a peaceful haven in the hub-bub and constant fascination of the souks and market-places. In the summer this town is a tad windy - but that does keep the temperature down to a bearable 28 degrees or so - and the private balcony is high-walled to keep the wind out. We didn't have to worry about the safety of our two-year old on the private terrace or inside, and my fifteen-year old had plenty to do to keep him occupied in the town. Fresh food is available yards away in the main street and the kitchen is well-equipped. Alternatively you can eat out - there is plenty of choice. The maid, guardian and manager were excellent. Recommended.

Gareth R, August 2007

 

Felt like we were in the best place in town

Had the most amazing stay in the terrace apartment (i think the actual house is called 'mogador apartments' and has 3 apartments altogether). What can i say? chilled out atmosphere, privacy combined with services. everyone cannot have been more helpful...like anything we requested happened! felt like we were in the best place in town and mixing with 'those in the know'. amazing rooftop where we barbequed with other guests staying in the other floors ... bizbiz (in house dude) sorted us out for EVERYTHING!!! (such a sweetie; even invited us for a surf) it even had a few cds to listen to to introduce us to the ambience of this more than beautiful town! definitely will return!!

By a Yahoo contributor, December 2006

 

Beautiful terrace apartment 

We had a lovely stay in the beautiful terrace apartment (there are 3 altogether). The facilities and services are fab food you can order in at any time; a lovely guardian; friendly staff. We enjoyed a BBQ on the high terrace with some of the other guests from the other apartments in the house and had a great time. It felt as comfortable as being at home; there was CD player (with some CDs) satellite TV. All in all great value and I would definitely return. Thanks for such a lovely holiday. Tips/secrets: have a bottle of wine on the terrace at sunset. 

From Tripadvisor, October 2006

 

Amazing place in an amazing town

Amazing place in an amazing town. Worth checking out if you want a taste of Morocco away from chain hotels.
Was made to feel welcome - a home from home!

By a Yahoo contributor, Sept ember 2006

 

A delight to stay in

This apartment was a delight to stay in ... bright and airy, stylish and comfortable. Central location just next to all the shops....had many evenings relaxing on the terrace watching the sun go down over the rooftops of the town and sea...heavenly!

From Villarenters, June 2006

 

Keep heading back

Excellent everything. Keep heading back. Will get you all sorted - sports, trips, things to do, etc. Always recommend it to all. I always head back there every year.

By a Yahoo contributor, February 2006